2014 Awards

Sandra Hobson Distinguished Alumni Award (Occupational Therapy) - Sandra Hobson, BSc (OT) 1976
Sandra has demonstrated an unwavering commitment to her profession, her community and to the highest standards of clinical practice, education, and research. Her impressive contributions include over a decade of clinical practice as an occupational therapist; two decades of teaching at the undergraduate and graduate levels; presentations at a plethora of workshops and conferences around the country and the globe; and numerous publications in peer reviewed journals, books, and technical papers as well as membership on the OT Now editorial board. She was distinguished internationally with an Honorary Doctorate in 2003 for her contributions in setting up a rehabilitation department at the Belarusian State Medical University in Minsk, and nationally when awarded a Fellowship with the Canadian Association of Occupational Therapists in 2013.

Barbara Purdie with the client Jase McRae Distinguished Alumni Award (Physical Therapy) - Barbara Purdie, BSc (PT) 1979

Barbara is a physiotherapist at Five Counties Children's Centre in Peterborough. While specializing in pediatric rehabilitation, Barbara has demonstrated the highest level of service to children with disabilities and their families. As an active member of her profession, Barbara is a Canadian Physiotherapy Association member, past chair, and VP of the local district of Kawartha District, Ontario Physiotherapy Association. Barbara's demonstrated leadership extends into the community while as she worked as a volunteer physiotherapist in Jamaica, taking part in the Mustard Seed project. Further, she has participated in CANCHILD (National Pediatric Research) for the past 18 years and has served in leadership positions in multiple, youth focused community organizations. Maintaining close ties to her Alma Mater, Barbara has been a clinical coordinator and preceptor for Queen's Physiotherapy interns for approximately 25 years.

Catherine Lysack Distinguished Alumni Award (Rehabilitation Science) - Catherine Lysack, MSc (Rehabilitation Science) 1992

Cathy Lysack, Ph.D., O.T. (C), is the Deputy Director of the Institute of Gerontology, a Professor in the Department of Health Care Sciences (Occupational Therapy) and the Acting Dean at the Eugene Applebaum College of Pharmacy and Health Sciences at Wayne State University. Cathy's scholarship focuses on examining the social and environmental factors that influence rehabilitation outcomes for people with disabilities and older adults. Her research has led to critical empirical and theoretical insights about community engagement of older African American women and women with spinal cord injuries, and the experiences that older adults have during household downsizing and relocation. In recent years, she has become increasingly engaged in building capacity of rehabilitation providers to effectively work with older adults with mental health challenges. The strength and value of Cathy's scholarship is reflected by her 2007 induction into the American Occupational Therapy Foundation's Academy of Research.